Selected Filters:

Author: Irish Catholic Bishops' Conference

Irish Catholic Bishops' Conference

The Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference (also known as the Irish Episcopal Conference) is the assembly of the Bishops of Ireland exercising together certain pastoral offices for Christ’s faithful on the whole island of Ireland.

The Conference enables the Bishops to exchange views, and share their wisdom and experience in order to promote the common good of the Church in Ireland. General Meetings of the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference normally take place on a quarterly basis.

The Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference seeks to build effective consensus among the Bishops, thereby contributing to the unity of the Church in communion with Pope Francis.  Through its links with the Church in neighbouring countries and across the world, it strengthens and enriches efforts to increase faith and proclaim the Gospel message to all nations. At the same time, the Conference fully respects the personal authority, responsibility and ministry of each individual Bishop within his own diocese.


To help it fulfil its aims more effectively, the Irish Catholic Bishops’ Conference has established various Episcopal Commissions, departments, councils, agencies, councils and other bodies which focus on specific tasks and areas of responsibility within the mission of the Church. Day to day operations are overseen by a secretariat.

The five Episcopal Commissions are as follows:

You can see in the FOOTER the various councils and agencies that come under the five Episcopal Commissions.


The current membership of the Irish Bishops’ Conference comprises the Bishops (or Diocesan Administrators) of the 26 dioceses of Ireland together with the four auxiliary Bishops.

Archbishop Eamon Martin, Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All-Ireland

Archbishop Diarmuid Martin, Archbishop of Dublin and Primate of Ireland

Episcopal Secretary
Bishop Kieran O’Reilly, Archbishop of Cashel and Emly 

Finance Secretary
Bishop Francis Duffy, Bishop of Ardagh and Clonmacnois

Standing Committee (2016-2019) 

Archbishop Eamon Martin (President)
Archbishop Diarmuid Martin (Social Issues International Affairs Chair)
Archbishop Kieran O’ Reilly (Episcopal Secretary)
Archbishop Michael Neary
Bishop Éamonn Walsh (Pastoral Care Chair)
Bishop Leo O’ Reilly
Bishop John Fleming (Planning, Communications & Resources Chair)
Bishop Noel Treanor
Bishop Brendan Leahy (Education Commission Chair)
Bishop Denis Nulty
Bishop Francis Duffy (Finance Secretary)
Bishop Donal McKeown (WPRFD Chair)

18 products found, displaying products 1 to 18: