PRODUCT CODE: 9781782183440 New Beginnings

Awakening Inner Peace

by Sister Stan
add to cart
  add to list
Product Details
Customer Reviews (0)


In medieval times, monks divided the day into eight hours of guided prayer: Matins, Lauds, Prime, Terce, Sext, Nones, Compline, and Vespers. Scribes would produce beautiful illuminated volumes with weekly cycles of psalms, prayers, hymns and readings for Christian devotion. This book is designed in the same way, but can be dipped in and out to suit the reader's day or mood. It is a journey through the hours of the monastic day. It is an invitation to hear the sound of silence, to step out of clock time into the monastic flow of time and to come to a new understanding of the deep inner peace that silence and true listening can bring.