Free Delivery within Ireland


Author(s): N/A

ISBN13: 9781851827411

ISBN10: 9781851827411


Bookmark and Share
  • This volume includes the books of Job, Proverbs, Eclesiastes, Wisdom, and Sirach.

    Whereas the first five books of the Old Testament - the Pentateuch - record the Law of Moses in the form of commandments, the Wisdom Books propound that teaching in the form of counsels and proverbs. They also reveal the close connection between knowledge that comes through faith, and knowledge acquired through human reasoning.

    The book of Job takes the form of a narrative - the story of an upright man who experiences misfortune after misfortune; to a degree, it lifts the veil that shrouds the mystery of suffering.
    The book of Ecclesiastes (All is vanity) helps the believer to appreciate the value of things heavenly.
    Proverbs consists of seven collections of wise saying from the ancient East.
    The Wisdom of Solomon, which probably originated in the Jewish community of Alexandria (Egypt), interfaces with the world of Greek culture.
    Sirach, written by someone steeped in the wisdom tradition of Israel, was much used by the early Fathers of the Church.

    Reading and reflecting on the Wisdom Books helps to prepare the human mind and spirit to receive the Lord and to understand his teaching.

    Like the other volumes in the standard edition of the Navarre Bible, prepared by Navarre Universitys theology faculty, this volume contains the full biblical text in the Revised Standard Version and the New Vulgate together with extensive commentaries.

    The commentaries, or notes, help to explain the doctrinal and practical meaning of the scriptural text, drawing on a rich variety of sources: Church documents, the exegesis of Fathers and Doctors, and the works of prominent spiritual writers, particularly Saint J. Escriv?í, who initiated the Navarre Bible project.

    The seven volumes of the Old Testament are (1) Pentateuch, (2) Joshua-Kings, (3) Chronicles-Maccabees, (4) The Psalms, (5) Wisdom Books, (6) Major Prophets and (7) Minor Prophets.
  • Be the first to review this product



Christmas Shipping Times