Free Delivery within Ireland

Seven Sorrows of Mary

Author(s): N/A

ISBN13: 9780764817540

ISBN10: 076481754X

Bookmark and Share
  • The devotion to the Seven Sorrows of Mary appears to date back to the mid-thirteenth century and to the Servite Order. In its present form, the devotion addresses the following moments in Mary's life, her seven sorrows:


    1. The prophecy of Simeon at the time of the presentation of the child Jesus in the Temple.

    2. Mary and Joseph flee with Jesus into Egypt.

    3. Mary and Joseph lose the child Jesus in Jerusalem and find him in the Temple.

    4. Mary meets Jesus on his way to Calvary.

    5. Mary stands at the foot of the cross on Calvary.

    6. Mary is present as Jesus is taken down from the cross.

    7. Mary is present at the burial of Jesus.


    The Seven Sorrows devotion has served as a way to deepen our appreciation of Christ's love for us and also for Mary's courage throughout her life as she listened to the Word of God and acted on it, living out her response to the Angel Gabriel: "Here am I, the servant of the Lord; let it be with me according to your word" (Luke 1:38).

  • Be the first to review this product


Seven Sorrows of Mary

Christmas Shipping Times