Free Delivery within Ireland

Rise Again The Beautiful City

Bookmark and Share
  • In The Beautiful City, John Michael again returns to his rock roots with an electric/acoustic project harnessing the talents of some of the industrys top players. The Beautiful City has an upbeat style that will appeal to listeners of all ages.

    1 The Beautiful City Listen Listen
    2 Get Ready
    3 He Is Risen Listen Listen
    4 Holy Man
    5 Heal Me
    6 Love One Another Listen Listen
    7 A God Thing Listen Listen
    8 Like A Lion
    9 St. Pauls Blues
    10 Hes Coming
    11 The God Of Time Listen Listen
    12 Theres Room Inside

  • John Michael Talbot

    John Michael Talbot, the bestselling author of the spiritual classic The Lessons of St. Francis, is one of the founding fathers of contemporary Christian music, with multiplatinum sales. He has received, among other honours, Dove and Grammy Awards. He is the host of the inspirational television programme All Things Are Possible. He tours constantly, headlining over 150 ministries per year. He is the founder of an integrated monastic community, the Brothers and Sisters of Charity.

  • Be the first to review this product

    I have really liked the change and new direction that John Michael Talbot has taken on his last few CDs. Monk Rock and City Of God gave me a new view of one of Catholic music most popular singer. I know there are those who love his contemplative side, and thats alright. I just need a little more groove in my life. Talbot gives me that in his new CD The Beautiful City . This is his 49th release. Following in the steps of Monk Rock, Talbot has picked up his electric guitar from his former days and fueled the music to praise God. It goes beyond the limits of just him and the guitar as he brings out what I would call a classic rock style. Many of the songs have a Cream, Doobie Brothers, or Blind Faith type of sound. JMT many times sounds like Eric Clapton in his playing. The title track of The Beautiful City refers to New Orleans and the devastation left after Hurricane Katrina. Talbot sings about how we got down on our knees to pray as the storm waters rose. The song ends with a hopeful note that "she will rise again.He will rise again." The song was released as a download only song with the money going to victims of the disaster and was co-written by Talbots brother Terry. The two also worked on the song "Holy Man." The song has some great guitar licks that are found in many classic rock songs and tells the story of Jesus as healer.
    Songs that talk about when Jesus will be coming back for us include," "Hes Coming," and "Get Ready." TThe Beautiful City is as inspirational as it is a joy to listen to.

    - Jeff Burson


Rise Again The Beautiful City

Christmas Shipping Times