Free Delivery within Ireland

For All That Has Been, Thanks

ISBN13: 9781848250178

ISBN10: 1848250177


Bookmark and Share

  • Rowan Williams, writing in partnership with the bestselling American Benedictine author, Joan Chittister, explores the meaning of a word often spoken in Christian worship, but rarely considered. What are we doing when we say the word Alleluia?

    In the Old Testament, it is a summons to praise - when it feels appropriate and when it doesnt. In the New Testament it becomes part of the language of praise, used at all times, even to this day in the funeral liturgies in the Eastern Orthodox church. Here then is a clue , it is a call to see the whole of life as one long Alleluia moment as the authors put it, to discover the richness and manifestations of God even when they are hidden from us.

    Some things we naturally feel grateful for , life, health, comfort, pleasure - but how is it possible to say Alleluia to the parts of life that weigh us down and drain our spirits dry? This book aims to give some very practical answers to how we cultivate an Alleluia view of every present moment, to find the meaning in Dag Hammerskolds famous words:
    For all that has been, thanksfor all that shall be, yes.

  • Joan Chittister


    Joan Chittister is an internationally known author and lecturer, and the executive director of Benetvision, a resource and research center for contemporary spirituality. She serves as cochair of the Global Peace Initiative of Women, a partner organization of the UN, facilitating a worldwide network of women peace builders. Her books include The Gift of Years, The Monastery of the Heart, and Uncommon Gratitude (with the Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Williams). She is past president of the Leadership Conference of Women Religious and was prioress of her community, the Benedictine Sisters of Erie, Pennsylvania, for twelve years.



    Rowan Williams

    Rowan Williams is Master of Magdalene College, Cambridge. His most recent books include The Lion's World: A Journey into the heart of Narnia (2012), Faith in the Public Square (2012), Dostoyevsky: Language, faith and fiction (2011), and Tokens of Trust: An introduction to Christian belief (2007).

  • Be the first to review this product


For All That Has Been, Thanks

Christmas Shipping Times